MOSAIC (Multi-Object Spectrograph for Astrophysics, Intergalactic medium studies and Cosmology)

MOSAIC is a multi-object and multi-integral field spectrograph that will use the widest possible field of view provided by the ELT.  The MOSAIC top-level requirements have been based on a comprehensive White Paper summarizing the very numerous scientific cases for a multi-object spectrograph on the ELT.

MOSAIC is conceived as a multi-purpose MOS for the ELT, covering the Visible and Near Infrared bandwidth (0.45 – 1.8 μm) with two modes: multi-object spectroscopy (MOS) and spatially resolved spectroscopy (mIFU).


The Consortium

MOSAIC Institutions.

The Consortium includes countries in the core of the project (Partners: France, United Kingdom, The Netherlands, Germany) as well as other participating countries (Associate Partners: Austria, Brazil, Finland, Italy, Portugal, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, together with University of Michigan and STScI in the  USA) including those interested in financially supporting the project in exchange of Guaranteed Observing Time or in participation in Public Surveys. Partners within the MOSAIC consortium have a long and successful heritage of instrument delivery for ESO and GTC, including: FORS, FLAMES, KMOS, MUSE, SPHERE, NACO, VIMOS, X-SHOOTER, and MEGARA. They gather unique worldwide expertise in conceiving, designing, and building multi-object spectrographs, integral field units, and adaptive optics-driven instruments.


The Instrument

MOSAIC, a unique instrument for the ESO 39m Extremely Large Telescope (ELT)

MOSAIC will be located at the Nasmyth B port of the ELT. The instrument will work with Ground Layer Adaptive Optics image quality over the full field of view of the ELT ~40 arcmin2 and over a nearly full-sky coverage. GLAO combines 4 laser guide stars with fainter natural guide to achieve 40% ensquared energy within 0.4 arcsec in H-band.




MOSAIC for the ELT: A Gigantic Step into the Deep Universe

The MOSAIC design has also been driven by 6 core science cases (below), but with its design also strongly influenced by other cases developed by the community in the MOS White Paper to ensure we are as ready as possible for the exciting discoveries awaiting in the late 2020s.

MOSAIC will give a tremendous leap forward in our understanding of how present-day galaxies formed and evolved. This includes detecting nearby primordial stars, the very first galaxies at the epoch of re-ionization, the most exhaustive dynamical survey of distant galaxies ever undertaken, and detailed study of stars in galaxies millions of light years beyond the Milky Way.


The Team

A project with an important contribution from Spanish institutions:

  • Universidad Complutense de Madrid (UCM)
  • Instituto de Astrofísica de Andalucía (IAA-CSIC)

For more details, visit the MOSAIC web page

The MOSAIC science team contains more than 140 astronomers from across the globe, with contributions from:

  • Angela Adamo
  • Jose Afonso
  • David Alexander
  • Emilio Alfaro Navarro
  • Omar Almaini
  • Leonardo Almeida
  • Philippe Amram
  • Joana Ascenso
  • Hervé Aussel
  • Beatriz Barbuy
  • Nate Bastian
  • Giuseppina Battaglia
  • Ted Bergin
  • Arjan Bik
  • Beth Biller
  • Xavier Bonfils
  • Piercarlo Bonifacio
  • Nicolas Bouche
  • Rychard Bouwens
  • Enzo Brocato
  • Andy Bunker
  • Elisabetta Caffau
  • Karina Caputi
  • John Carter
  • África Castillo
  • Stephane Charlot
  • Laurent Chemin
  • Cristina Chiappini
  • Ana Chies Santos
  • Andrea Cimatti
  • Michele Cirasuolo
  • Yann Clenet
  • Francoise Combes
  • Sébastien Comeron
  • Christopher Conselice
  • Thierry Contini
  • Jean-Gabriel Cuby
  • Katia Cunha
  • Emanuele Daddi
  • Massimo Dall’Ora
  • Gavin Dalton
  • Ben Davies
  • Reinaldo deCarvalho
  • Alex deKoter
  • Miroslava Dessauges-Zavadsky
  • Karen Disseau
  • James Dunlop
  • Benoit Epinat
  • Chris Evans
  • Michele Fabrizio
  • Sofia Feltzing
  • Annette Ferguson
  • Mercedes Filho
  • Alexis Finoguenov
  • Fabrizio Fiore
  • Ewan Fitzsimons
  • Hector Flores
  • Adriano Fontana
  • Dimitri Gadotti
  • Anna Gallazzi
  • Jesus Gallego
  • Paulo Garcia
  • Eric Gendron
  • Emanuele Giallongo
  • Armando Gil de Paz
  • Oscar Gonzalez
  • Damian Gratadour
  • Eva Grebel
  • Eike Guenther
  • François Hammer
  • Chris Harrison
  • Marc Huertas-Company
  • Rodrigo Ibata
  • Jorge Iglesia Paramo
  • Jure Japelj
  • Lex Kaper
  • Susan Kassin
  • Carolina Kehrig
  • Pierre Kervella
  • Andreas Korn
  • Davor Krajnovic
  • Rolf Kudritzki
  • Clotilde Laigle
  • Thierry Lanz
  • Nicolas Laporte
  • Soeren Larsen
  • Bertrand Lemasle
  • Jose Manuel Vilchez
  • Claudia Maraston
  • Isabel Marquez
  • David Martinez-Delgado
  • Justyn Maund
  • Iain Mcdonald
  • Ross McLure
  • Simona Mei
  • Jens Melinder
  • Michael Meyer
  • Chris Miller
  • John Monnier
  • Simon Morris
  • Sally Oey
  • Goran Ostlin
  • Stephane Paltani
  • Jorge Iglesia Paramo
  • Lee R. Patrick
  • Thibaut Paumard
  • Roser Pello
  • Laura Pentericci
  • Celine Peroux
  • Patrick Petitjean
  • Janine Pforr
  • Nor Pirzkal
  • Henri Plana
  • Mathieu Puech
  • Hadi Rahmani
  • Philipp Richter
  • Myriam Rodrigues
  • Emmanuel Rollinde
  • Martin Roth
  • Daniel Rouan
  • Gerard Rousset
  • Lee R. Patrick
  • Heikki Salo
  • Hugues Sana
  • Ruben Sanchez
  • Daniel Schaerer
  • Ricardo Schiavon
  • Rainer Schödel
  • Raymond Simons
  • Matthias Steinmetz
  • Mark Swinbank
  • Lidia Tasca
  • William Taylor
  • Eduardo Telles
  • Goncalves Thiago
  • Christina Thöne
  • Scott Trager
  • Laurence Tresse
  • Marina Trevisan
  • Miguel Verdugo
  • Susanna Vergani
  • Aprajita Verma
  • Jose Manuel Vilchez Medina
  • Jakob Walcher
  • Jianling Wang
  • Niraj Welikala
  • Lutz Wisotzki
  • Yanbin Yang
  • Stefano Zibetti
  • Bodo Ziegler